In some countries, some people are renting accomodation, while other are buying their own homes. Does renting accomodation have more advantages or more disadvantages than buying a place?

Human civilization nowadays thinks it is more convenient to live in a rental house instead of buying a new one. Houses in the city tend to be more expensive due to the high demand and developed infrastructure. However, I believe both of the views above have advantages and disadvantages which will be explained below. To begin, the number of poverty in developing country continues to rise. Many society especially students who live in another city prefer to settle their life in a flat or rented house instead of buy a new one. There are several benefits to living in rented accommodation. First, leasing a house or flat tends to be cheaper. Second, people do not need to pay for extra maintenance. For instance, due to the high number of criminals in West Papua, nomads especially women prefer to live in flats because it is safer and more comfortable. On the contrary, for people who understand finance, rented accommodation is not a suitable choice for long-term investment. They believe it is more wasteful than buying a house or apartment. For example, elderly in Indonesia always advise youngsters to buy a house as soon as possible. House is one of the good investment because the price tend to increase each year. To conclude, there are advantages and disadvantages of renting a place to stay. It depends on how people can gain benefits from every decision they make. Renting a house can be a choice for a short-term place to stay, while buying a house or apartment is lifetime investment.