Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Many people argue that long average working hours bring more profits to the countries than those which have lower time. Personally, I partly agree with this view and it depends on the monetary and physical health of workers. On the one hand, the more time you work, the more money you make. Therefore, if citizens earn more money from their hard work, the government will receive more revenue from taxes leading to the development of the economy. To illustrate, many present companies pay salaries to employees based on their dedication and productivity. Hence, it is easier for staff who work for a long period and have high productivity to be promoted on the career ladder and dedicated to society by paying taxes. On the other hand, I believe that not always spending a long time at work contributes more to the money in the economy than those who do not. One reason is that some health problems may appear due to long-term assignments. Thus, their productivity will decrease and badly affect their income. For example, in Japan, many people who are old and vulnerable to the diseases such as stress and strain are working like blue-collar workers in some fields. Consequently, many research showed that the rate of loneliness and isolation in them higher than in many countries of the world, resulting in the reduction of the labour force and profits of the economy. In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I believe that although long labour time can help the economy of the countries earn higher revenue, it is not a good way to improve the monetary because of the potential harm to the residents.