Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Conventionally, students have commenced their foreign language studies in the later stages of their educational journeys; nonetheless, some experts maintain that it could be beneficial to introduce them earlier: at primary school. While there are both pros and cons associated with this proposition, the benefits take precedence over the drawbacks, as discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. It is evident that children who are introduced to a foreign language at the early stages of their academic career are better positioned to graduate with a superior command of the language. Children—with their intrinsic curiosity—absorb a foreign language quickly and effectively when compared to teenagers, as their brains are more adaptable to phonetic nuances and grammatical structures of the language. A study by cognitive psychologists at Columbia University, showing that children aged 8 to 12 outperformed those in the 13 to 16 age group by almost two-to-one in correctly pronouncing a unique foreign world, perfectly exemplifies (serves as a compelling example to) why earlier introduction of foreign language can potentially lead to efficient learning. Additionally, as these children grow up, minimal efforts are sufficient to help them attain the desired level of expertise by the time they graduate, which will not only help achieve the objectives of foreign language instruction, but will also provide enough time for students to focus on other subjects they intend to pursue at university. However, on a dimmer side, primary school teachers may lack the language proficiency in the target foreign language, and senior instructors may not always be equipped with specialized skills for age-appropriate instruction, both leading to inadequate/suboptimal teaching. This could potentially lead to negative learning experience and risk demotivating students. Moreover, adding an extra burden to children’s portfolio, which is already crammed with enough academics, without them being able to make an informed decision of their choice of foreign language, does not seem practical. Nevertheless, these drawbacks can be effectively addressed/attended to by recruiting qualified teachers who can make learning fun and seamless, and establishing a carefully researched uniform language curriculum devoid of any electives. In conclusion, while issues like instructor’s qualifications and additional responsibility on children’s shoulder may warrant additional planning and further discourses, appreciating and fostering the children’s innate abilities to help them graduate with a better command of foreign language, and the overall academics as well, is undeniably essential and outweighs (assumes primacy over) the challenges.