Nowadays many students choose to take a year off before going to university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of taking a gap year, and give your own opinion about whether it is a good idea.

It is evident that more and more students decide to take a gap year before going to university. There are some disadvantages of taking a gap year, however, I believe that it may be beneficial to students overall. On the one hand, students who take a gap year may experience some drawbacks. Firstly, many students choose to travel around during the gap year, they may spend extra money than usual. Secondly, if students don’t set goals for the gap year, this period of time wouldn’t help them improve themselves. For instance, if a student goes to America without any plan to learn or experience, it will be an expensive and meaningless year for him or her. Finally, students may realize that their learning skills retrograde after taking a gap year, making them hard to catch up when going to university. On the other hand, taking a gap year can be worthy for students. In this year, students can focus on getting along with themselves rather than putting all efforts on academic accomplishments, and have better self-awareness. Also, this period of time can be utilized to learn different abilities, such as speaking foreign languages, taking short-term courses or jobs, expanding their network, and building new personal perspectives. As a result, these experiences provide high value for gap - year -takers and makes them more competitive than others when securing a job. For example, a student who has experience taking related courses and ability to speak foreign languages fluently and even has his or her own thoughts would be preferred by outstanding companies. In conclusion, I believe that if students can arrange their gap year appropriately, taking a gap year is beneficial to them.