Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

There is an increasing susceptibility among criminals to commit aggressive deeds after their first penalty. This essay will display some of the potential reasons as well as the available solutions. To begin with, the aggressive environment most of prisoners suffer from is the main cause of increased violence. in other words, prison population involves individuals from different backgrounds who committed a wide variety range of crimes, and most of them are murders and gangsters who used to fortify their sovereignty, regardless of the consequences. Thus, survival is a top priority for the new inmates, therefore, they might become willing to do anything to stay alive, eventually, due to these hardships they have to overcome they become more violent. This can be examplified by a survey conducted by a group of Iraqi civil society activists, which claims that the ability to commit violence actions of imprisoned persons is up to ten time more than those who are outside jails. This example shows that harsh atmosphere has a detrimental impact on the jailed people and it makes them more aggressive. Furthermore, enhance the prison environment could play a pivotal role in improving the psychological status of prisoners. To illustrate, provide inmates with the opportunity to release negative emotions and eradicate stress will help the individuals inside prison to concentrate on more useful things rather than violence deeds, and this can be done through multiple ways such as building a gym. Moreover, provide jailers with a well-trained psychologist can significantly decrease the crime rates because they can discuss and share their feelings and thoughts with a specialist, which, in turn, might have a valuable impact on their mental health. In Netherlands, for example, violence among criminals gradually falls due to the presence of sports clubs, libraries, and other rehabilitation facilities. What can be said here is that authorities must deal with prisons as a rehabilitation institution rather than a place to punish people. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated the above-mentioned ideas, it can be assumed that harsh situations most of offenders have to deal with on a regular basis is the main cause that makes them more vulnerable to violence and governments must endeavour to endorse all initiatives to tackle this issue.