The animal species are becoming extinct due to human activities on land an in sea. What are the reasons and solutions?

There is a crisis that various species of animals are on the verge of extinction due to exploitative and abusive human activities such as overgrazing, hunting, and deforestation. This essay will uphold the viewpoint that the underestimated importance of ecological balance contributes to such circumstances. Without changes in legal and ideological systems, it is hard to ameliorate the status quo. It is undeniable that the lack of critical awareness of how sustainable development is indispensable to the well-being of humans brings harm to fauna. In fact, boosting economic growth at the expense of animal populations has become more justified than ever before, particularly under the discursive impacts of neoliberalism that emphasizes economic gains. For example, the reason why overfishing is still threatening the survival of some marine predators is that depletion of natural resources will not be deemed morally wrong if the prospect of financial benefits is guaranteed. To overcome this predicament, governments that have the power to influence social behaviour should be responsible for enacting more strict laws as a deterrence. For instance, in some countries, there are legislations stipulating that people who engage in shooting endangered species could be accused of serious crimes. Consequently, it is predictable that the populations of these animals will be augmented and be restored to a safe level because potential charges may prevent some people from abusive hunting. Additionally, media and non-governmental organizations should also be mobilized to raise the environmental awareness of the public by campaigning through diverse ways such as delivering speeches in political elections and advocating for more establishments of conservatories. In conclusion, both over-emphasis on economic development and neglect of ecological balance are real culprits of some fauna’s extinction. Thus, various stakeholders including governments, society, media, and the public should make a concerted effort to address this issue.