In many countries small shops and town centers are going out of business, because people tend to drive to the large out-of-town stores. This results in an increase in car use, and it also means that people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores. Do you think advantages of such development outweigh its disadvantages

In modern times, far-distance shopping has become an essential part of life. There is a large chunk of people who love to shop in big cities. In this essay, I will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of the tendency of out-of-town shopping and provide my overall opinion. Generally, there are two reasons why individuals think that far-distance shopping is disadvantageous. First of all, air pollution is probably the prime reason. This is because an increasing amount of cars means large emissions of toxic chemicals that pollute the air. For example, in China, a majority of cities ban the usage of personal cars due to traffic congestion and air pollution. Secondly, unemployment would be another phenomenon that will arise from the behaviour of out-of-town shopping. If a large volume of the population prioritises large stores, the small-scale businesses will gradually vanish from the locality, thus leading to a rise in unemployment. Despite all these arguments, there is a case why people love to go out of town and shop in a large centre since it provides them with personal satisfaction. In these shopping malls, there are a variety of bands that one can choose from to fulfil their personal need. For example, there are several pen-making companies including Matador and Sevoder that produce the same product but target a specific set of consumers. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages associated with our out-of-town shopping behaviour. However, considering the far-reaching disadvantages such as air pollution and unemployment, I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages of such development.