Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a third world problem. However, it is becoming apparent that in countries such as the USA and Australia, illiteracy rate is on the increase. Discuss possible causes for this and its effect on society. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the illiteracy rate is increasing at a speed of light in worldwide. This is mainly due to financial crisis and less awareness, especially in underdeveloped nations which concern several effects on society such as inclined in crime rate and health issues. This essay will expatiate both stances with lucid examples. To commence with, the foremost cause is low-budget income. To explain further, the unequal rise in tution fees is one of major reasons of illiteracy as the majority of people can't afford for their children. To exemplify, the uneducated folks rate are increasing in Britian because of huge amount of teaching fees in privtae colleges. Secondly, less awareness is the another significant concern as they think it is waste of income as well as time. This means, that they prefer to send their kids on work to divide their expenses. According to an American survey, 50% of population are willing to send their children to work rather than colleges to manage their daily revenues, especially in developing countries like India. Thus, the illiteracy rate is globally increased. On the other side, there are several consequences of uppermost notion. Firstly, the criminal activities will be increased such as snatching, robbing etc due to unemployment. To illustrate, 40% cases of shop lifting, robbery etc. is to fullfill their basic needs in Canada. Moreover, this is not only effecting the crime ratio but their health. For example, they have to work hard on minimum wages to acquire their daily needs such as grocery, rent which causes several health problems such as stress, back issues etc. To conclude, less education is one of major concerns in developing and developed countries. This is mainly due to poverty, and less awareness. Additionally, it has negative impacts on the society such as increasing criminal activities, work-load pressure on health.