Some people think that being able to communicate with others online is breaking down geographical barriers and enabling people, who would normally never have the chance to meet, to communicate. What are the advantages of international communication online? Are there any disadvantages to this?

It is widely believed by some people that online communication provides a way for people to interact with each other across the globe. In my view, this development in technology enables people to gain a lot of knowledge, but it also has its own drawbacks. Social media has helped us to connect with other people who are not acquaintances, and it introduces us to new communities. Thus, by having a new community, someone will be able to expand their communication network, benefitting them in the long term. Moreover, knowing more people will boost our experience, especially if they are from a different background, because they have a distinct culture compared to what we initially have. Furthermore, online communication brings new job opportunities to the table since it enables people to work remotely from their home or even from a different country. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic several years ago, people were not allowed to go to their offices, so they worked remotely by using online communication. The first disadvantage of online communication is that some people use it in a negative way such as hacking. There are a lot of hackers on the web who might misuse online communication to get personal benefits, and this is a threatening issue for those who are not good with technology, especially the elderly. For example, hackers could send text messages through any social media to the victim and trick the victim to give their personal information which will be used to blackmail the victim. Likewise, they can use a false identity to scam others who are vulnerable. In conclusion, although online communication allows us to get a lot of benefits whether it is to extend our social connections or to improve our knowledge, it comes with certain dire problems, so it is important for us to use online communication wisely.