More and more people now working remotely from home. To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

Work from home is a trendy and popular term among the different professionals worldwide. This tendency has increased a lot during the pandemic time when physical contact was prohibited. Though working remotely is suitable for some people, there are some negative impacts which an individual should know before entering into this arena. These negative impacts can lead to the disruption in the work -life balance and inability to the social interaction of an individual. Firstly, remote jobs are usually be done from home, where an individual stays with family. This can be difficult for someone to maintain a harmony between the work life and family life. For instance, when a person is attending a zoom call at his home, family members might be roaming around and the attention to the meeting can be gone away. Additionally, sometimes employer has perception that the employee works from home means he/she is always available. Therefore, it creates chaos to the work -life balances while working remotely. Secondly, remote work doesn't require any on-premise office setup. Though it saves a substancial amount of costs but it lacks an enviroment where employees can connect with each other with physical presence. For example, in a traditional office works colleagues works together both in individual and teams, which is good for enhancing social interaction ability of an individual. This ambience provides enourmous opportunity to share thoughts and ideas with others, whereas working alone from home restricts a person for being socially interactive. In summary, working from home can be beneficial when there is a obvious necessity or any covid types situation persists. Many organizations are now shifting to the on-premise work from remote work. Though remote work is appropriate for some organizations but this is not a path that blindly to be followed.