Some people think that there are things individuals can do to help prevent global climate change. Others believe that action by individuals is useless and irrelevant and that it is only governments and large businesses which can make a difference. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the last few years, global warming has been increasing at the speed of light. Few folks proposed that people can do a few things to control the heating temperature of the earth, while others thought that it is the responsibility of the authorities because their actions are insignificant. However, I believe that actions should be taken by both living beings as well as the government. This essay discusses both stances in detail before arriving at an opinion. To commence with, some crowd opine that there are various things that can be done by them. Firstly, the main concern of climate change is the continuous inclined in CO2 due to the overuse of the transport system. For example, the majority of nations operate their own vehicles to move from one place to another. Hence, these vehicles emit CO2 which ultimately affects the environment like the ozone layer. Secondly, another reason is the excessive practice of plastic items. To explain further, the excess value of these items are increasing as compared to the last few decades such as plastic bags, plastic water bottles etc. which not only affects sea animals but also individuals after burning. According to an American survey, 70% of the lakes are filled with this trash which causes several health-related issues in the community such as respiratory illnesses like COPD. Therefore, this problem can be tackled with the involvement of each member of the society. On the other side, some individuals thought that their actions were not effective due to several reasons. The foremost reason is if the authorities can't provide some alternatives to reduce the overuse of vehicles such as more public transport systems, and educating society. For example, in Germany, the health inspector conducts some surveys to educate people about cycling for their health which ultimately decreases the ratio of motor cars and CO2 emissions. Secondly, substances which are not good for the surroundings should be banned such as polythene bags. For example, in India, the government banned the usage of poly bags which is not only beneficial to control trash but also the temp of the environment. To conclude, there is no doubt that global climate change is at its peak, nowadays. One side of human beings thought that it is the responsibility of the government, whereas others believe that society plays a crucial role in this scenario. Although, I believe they both should put their feet together to mitigate this issue such as if authorities are making any law, the public should follow them.