Write about the following topic. People should choose their course of study not on the basis of their own interests, but based on the kinds of jobs they can get. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that the selection of the educational field should lie on the kinds of employment they can get rather than their field of curiosity. I disagree with this statement and take the view that people should act on the basis of their passion. This essay will discuss mental issues created as a result of wrongly selected fields of study as well as the difficulty in finding a workplace in a widespread area. First of all, after a selection of studying fields which you are not interested in, there is a high chance that, after a while, you will burn out and fail your exams. Moreover, you will not have a desire to expand your knowledge and succeed in this field. As a future freshman, I have watched many videos from senior year students and everybody continues to say that we should choose a field which we are passionate about, or in other cases, you will understand that this is not your place and lose a couple of years. Secondly, with the increasing speed of modern technology, it is likely that your chosen field will decrease in popularity or there will be an exceeding number of specialists with that type of degree. For instance, the field of Computer Science, specifically, coding and creating apps, had a peak in widespread use 5 years ago. Nowadays, it can be seen that due to high competition among these graduated students, it is a challenge to find a workplace or internship. To conclude, the selected field of study should depend on the field of your curiosity rather than the work you can get after graduation in order not to lose determination to study. Anyway, it is always your choice which criteria you will use in selecting a study field; however, even though your choice will be based on future work availability, the area still should be connected with your interests.