Prevention is better than cure Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and prevention measures. Agree/disagree?

Many developed countries around the world spend billions of dollar on the health awareness programs to ensure that the local citizen is well aware of the causes and issues regarding the most common diseases. The programs are arranged in the form of activities and prizes which excites the participants. I strongly believe that country should allocation a certain portion of its budget to the education regarding heath and awareness programs. Firstly, many health issues are created because of lack of awareness about prevention measures. A large budget is being spent on hospitals for the treatment of patients. This staggering cost would reduce if government spend money on the awareness campaigns or on educational programs. There are many people who are still unaware about the causes and prevention of many health issues. For example, if the citizens may get access to information about the bad habits like drinking and smoking so many people would quit from its consumption which would ultimately reduce the overall cost. Secondly, awareness programs would ensure that the issue is identified at the early stage than the later stage as the amount of cost being spent would be very low. Statistics define that government spends significant portion on patient that are either in critical condition or at the last stage of their diseases. For example many people die of cancer every other day because of identification at the last stage of the cancer and even many doctor s are unable to detect that patient is severely ill with cancer. Hence it is very essential that country should spend money on the prevention activities and health awareness seminars as it will reduce the overall cost being allocated on treatment and also ensures early issue deduction.