Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

A matter of considerable controversy at present is the issue of whether many individuals express a strong preference for becoming self-employed rather than working under someone. This essay will establish the causes alongside some undesired drawbacks of this contemporary movement. I take the view that taking charge of one’s own business appears to be more preferable for the majority of people due to several compelling reasons. Firstly, proprietorship brings out golden opportunities for people who might become weary of heavy workload, unsocial working hours, unfair treatment under the supervision of demanding senior managers. Indeed, embarking on a self-employed career means that people can relish their sense of freedom and achieve a good work-life balance. Secondly, the prospect of being conducive to mastering new skills, discovering and fully developing untapped potentials is also one of contributing factors to this trend. Along with striving to become their own boss, individuals will unavoidably have to enhance both their hard and soft skills like problem solving, critical thinking, dependability, etc. to a greater extent as a requirement of leadership qualities and success achievement. Although it is unquestionably appealing to gain recognition as a proprietor, possible obstacles of self-employment can not be disregarded. In fact, in this highly competitive world, people could not shun the likelihood of challenging hurdles and being doomed to failure when acquiring a job of their preference, especially young entrepreneurs who lack experiences and insights and are prone to make unpremeditated decisions. Additionally, in the attempt to stay the course, new start-ups would struggle to seek investment and take loans from the bank, hence, new entrepreneurs have to pay tremendous effort and dedication to their work which might produce physical and mental health problems. In reality, there are countless cases of self-employed people who are immersed in debts, stuck with mental illness and not able to move forward. All things considered, while many people state their preference for self-employment as a privilege to improve their leadership skills and act on their own will, disadvantages of it should be taken into account as independent workers may undergo financial hardships and mental health dysfunction.