30.In some countries many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

It is said that in some nations, students after ending high school will take a gap year for travelling or working. The main benefits of this are gaining work experience and expanding knowledge; however, the key drawbacks are people may stop studying and think that university is not important. The main advantage is that individuals can get work experience. Doing a job will help people to know if they really like it, and if they want to do that job in the future. As well, this allows that in a future, when changing to another company, to have priority since they have had a work before. Furthermore, travelling, allows people to understand and know more cultures and people so they are more open-minded. After visiting different countries, there may be a place that they really like, and want to live there in a future, this will make students have motivation when studying at the university since they have a goal. Recent research concluded that in Spain, the people that have visited more countries are happier and more open at accepting new things, and as a consequence have good university results. However, if too many trips are done, people don’t have mood to study, the only thing that they would like to do is to go to other places, and going to the university is something that block them to do what they want, it is a waste of time, and as a consequence they will dislike university. The great disadvantage of working in the gap year is that some people will leave the studies. This is because they think that after 12 years of school, working is something new for them, they experienced new things and are not willing to go back to study, since they think that they are fine with the life they have. Studies done in the USA shown that 80% of people that quit studying after high school, do not continue their studies. In conclusion, taking a sabbatical year will allow individuals to try different types of works, looking for the one they like and they can learn new things. However, there is a possibility that they will not study again and do not take university as something important.