Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

There is the number of people who thinks that schools should focus only on academic success and help students to pass their examination and skills like cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught in schools. They state, that these skills can be developed by parents as well as by friends of that student. From my perspective, I strongly believe that this statement is correct, but I will be explaining both points of view with the support of some relevant examples. To commence with, schools should focus mainly on the studies of the students. Providing them with better education, is the main objective that the parents send their children to school. This helps them to get better remarks in the examinations, which help them to improve their academic background. In addition to this, students with excellent academic records may receive better job opportunities in future as compared to other people. For instance, there are many countries with parents who want their children to be a doctor or an engineer, instead of chefs or fashion designers. This kind of fields can only be achieved if the children focus more on their studies and examinations instead of some other activities. Even there are few guardians or parents who suggest that the school should provide sports activities instead of some extracurricular activities. In contrast to this, students and their parents prefer that school should have some other skills aside from the subjects and examinations, such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork. This helps them to develop their resume stronger and opens many industrial opportunities. Let's assume that the school have some other activities such as cookery, this will help the student to grow their foundation if he or she wants to be a chef. To conclude, schools should provide some other extracurricular activities but should not make them mandatory for every student to learn them. This will help students achieve whatever goal they want to achieve.