Nowadays, young people communicate with friends and family mostly through social networking sites, rather than other ways of communication like talking on the phone or face to face. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

An increasing number of people nowadays choose to talk to their friends and family online instead of other communicating forms such as phone calls or in person. In my opinion, this is a positive trend which helps increasing family bond and improving long-distance relationships. One great advantage that can arise from people socializing online is that it can bring family members closer, even if they have a big gap in age. The young people who prefer online conversation often make parents or grandparents start to learn more about technology just to know their children better. In some families, teenagers also get closer to the elders when showing them how to use social media platforms such as Facebook Messenger or WhatsApp. Moreover, a lot of families have created online group chats on mobile messaging apps recently to keep family things updated and members stay in touch daily. Therefore, online chat can become a way of communicating within family members besides traditional ways of chatting to increase the bond between them. Another benefit is that online communication can help long-distance friends and relatives, who are living away from their home, keep in touch with each other easier. For instance, during covid-19 lockdown, social media turned to become a vital way of communication for many individuals who got stuck in a foreign country. With just mobile date or Internet connection, people can still see, hear and talk to their families. It would have been sad and stressful for individuals who could not see the faces of their loved ones from far distance if there had been no online communication such as mobile social apps. In conclusion, it’s possible that there are some drawbacks of this trend. However, the benefits it has brought, such as bringing families and friends closer or solving the distance issues of some relationships, make it not be considered as a negative trend.