Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Children these days prefer to spend their time in the day with their smartphones. The main reason for this to happen is because of technological advancement and the new source of entertainment that kids can access, making them develop a negative influence. Therefore, the writer feels that this is a negative development. To begin with, the development of technology has made our lives easier, especially with the invention of smartphones. These days, not only adults can access smartphones, but children too can access them. To children, smartphones are used as a medium to unlock a new place of entertainment such as watching nursery rhymes children's shows, and games. However, despite the invention of the smartphone, children who already hold a smartphone at a young age and spend a number of hours on a gadget day-to-day can have a bad influence on them. One of the impacts is that they will grow an attachment to their smartphones making them need to have and bring it everywhere they go, moreover, children would also get anxious if they are not spending their time with a smartphone. Furthermore, children who consume their time on smartphones are likely to become unsociable. Kids who leave their time with gadgets seldom socialise with other people, thus making them develop reclusive personalities. To conclude, although smartphones have been a game-changing medium for children to access new enjoyment that is more practical and convenient to bring anywhere. It also has its downside where smartphones cause children to have an attachment to their smartphones and develop an unsociable personalities.