Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree! Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or expenence. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, people are swayed to buy products because of the powerful advertisement that companies uses, despite not needing these products. I agree to this notion as there are a lot of businesses utilise social media influencers to promote almost anything, as well as confusing consumers with graphics online to make them visit websites. Firstly, one of the trendiest ways to introduce products to the market is by sending them to influencers, for them to showcase the new features on their platforms in a creative way. For example, Dyson, producer of many advanced technologies such as vacuums and hair dryers send out their newest Hair Iron to selected tiktok influencers to try out the new product. People who follows those influencers will then get swayed and buy the new Iron, even though they do not need it. Furthermore, they save more money from paying advertisement models. Another reason why I agree is some promotions online often shows misleading prices to engage consumers to visit their websites, such as using different prices on different item photo. As a result, buyers do not realise that they brought more than what they actually need in that shop. This is common with monthly sales on e-commerce, which is an effective strategy they use to keep customers look forward for big sales every month. In conclusion, many individuals are influenced by social media content creators promotion because of their creative way of showcasing items, and despite falsely advertised, they buy items they do not necessarily need. In my opinion, indeed that these big earning companies are mostly acquiring their profit from these type of advertisements.