Globalization is creating a world of one culture and destroying national identity. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Globalization has transformed many aspects of life because of how it enables one culture to be exposed to the other. While there are a lot of activities that are accommodated by the positive impacts of globalization, it is evident that globalization can destroy national identity to a certain degree. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons and examples to prove this issue. To commence with, globalization has made it possible for countries to connect with each other without barriers. First-worldworld countries, such as the US, have a huge power in the global space, in which they are able to spread and even penetrate their culture to other countries. This becomes a system, that is a cultural hegemony, a concept of how a certain culture and ideology dominates the rest of society. Thus, the occurrence of cultural hegemony causes homogenization, meaning that the entire world has similar values and cultures. The first example of how globalization creates a world of one culture is fashion. Nowadays, there are almost no differences in how we dress up compared to the rest of other countries. Wearing jeans and T-shirt is way more common than dressing up with traditional clothes. Because of globalization, the US fashion industry and its trends have expanded worldwide and changed how people dress. More specifically, it is spread through the forms of globalization forces, such as media and entertainment. The second one is the concept of the McDonaldization of society. It is a term that explains how Americans penetrate their culture, values, and products. The visible evidence is how the American fast food chain, McDonalds, exists worldwide. If we look at this issue deeply, it is not only about fast food brands and products, but it is also about the values, which are efficiency and instant living. Therefore, through this concept, American culture has dominated the world and made the world homogenized. In conclusion, globalization allows nations to spread their culture to others. However, it is inevitable that only dominant countries can have the capacity to do so. Cultural aspects like fashion and values are influenced by these countries. As a consequence, the rest of the world will be influenced by superior culture. All things considered, a world of one culture is the result of globalization.