Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

University education offers different subjects in addition to the main subjects for qualifying degrees. In this scenario, while some students think it is useful to opt for additional subjects to enhance their employability, others would rather focus only on their main study areas to become completely equipped for their careers. This essay will explore both opinions and suggest that a student's career choice will determine the path that they take. On the one hand, the value of studying additional courses increases the possibility of landing a job for a student after University. As a result, some pupils prefer this approach. For example, a medical student can choose to study economics so that they are aware of the business side of setting up a clinic after they qualify as a doctor. This is a worthwhile choice, especially because students with such varied educational backgrounds tend to rise faster to leadership positions and prosper. On the other hand, those who focus only on their main course also become highly qualified in their chosen field and are treated as experts within no time in their profession. Thus they want to exclusively devote their time to one area of study. For example, students who focus on scientific areas like Bio-technology end up being sought-after scientists by leading organisations in the sector. Therefore, such a decision is no less valuable because experts are as necessary as universalists to society. In conclusion, as both perspectives have equal value, I am of the opinion that it is important for an undergraduate to decide on their career path based on their aptitude and interest, which will enable them to pick the point of view which will help them achieve their goal.