Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

English is known to be the universal language in the world therefore majority of the countries in the world speak English as their main language or even as their second language. In the country am living in, learning English is considered valuable. A The majority believe it's useful for their educational and career backgrounds to be used within the country or internationally. However, in opinion, I believe that learning English can be important the same as learning your mother tongue. This does not mean the local language should be disrespected. Any person living in their motherland should give first preference for their native language and then they can learn English as their second language in order to help them achieve their goals globally. English is a language which can be learned faster and easily. If a person is willing to pursue a higher education or start a career abroad, English will play a major role in their life. For instance, a person who speaks only their native mother language will find it difficult to communicate with an individual who does speak only English. As a person who comes from a Sinhala-speaking country, I find English as a great tool to communicate with the rest of the world because Sri Lanka is the only Sinhala-speaking country. However, learning English should be encouraged within the school because English is paramount to a successful life. Learning English can allow people to overcome the language barrier with the rest of the world and to gain knowledge and access to global education. Many people in my country struggle to survive abroad due to a lack of English knowledge so schools must motivate kids from a younger age to pursue and learn the English language at least as their second language while preserving their local language. To conclude, as per my argument, I believe learning English can be as important as learning a local language. It should be done combined therefore anyone can make their lives easy.