In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Nowadays, crime novels and TV crime series are becoming more and more popular in some countries. I think it is happening due to the increasing violence in these countries and because of people's curiosity. I do not like to watch this type of books and TV shows. I prefer romances and comedies instead criminal stories. I believe that the main reason for the popularity of this kind of program is the growing violence rates and the slow answer of security authorities in resolving crimes in real life. Then, reading books and watching TV crime dramas are a way to escape from reality and wonder about a world where cases are solved, and the bad guys are arrested. For instance, there is a very popular series on TV, called CSI NY or CSI Miami, that involves mysterious deaths and a lot of problems during the investigation, however, in the end, the lawbreaker is always put behind bars. Despite the popularity of these shows, I am not attracted to this genre. I prefer to spend my time reading classical romances or watching comic movies. For example, the last book that I read was The Magic Mountain, by Thomas Mann, and the last movie that I remember was The Hangover 3. In conclusion, I think that stories about crimes are each time more popular owing to the modern world, where violence and crimes are each time more frequent and the police are not able to elucidate all of them.