Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that increasing the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike is the best way to make roads safer. I do not agree because I think most accidents are not caused by young drivers but by irresponsible motorists, such as drunk people. Overall, a lot of people think that younger drivers are inexperienced and irresponsible and can cause many cars disaster. However, it is not totally true. There are many adults and middle-aged people who can be more dangerous at the wheel, causing a lot of accidents. The (major/main/leading) issue is not the age but the behaviour of driving a car, for instance, men who drive after drinking alcoholic beverages. This kind of behaviour is too difficult to change without a revolution in mindset and in cultural aspects. I think the police should increase the control of this type of driver by applying several punishments and suspending their driver's licenses, for example. Furthermore, the public authorities should spend more on advertising campaigns showing how harmful it is to combine alcohol and driving. Obviously, younger drivers must have a good preparation before starting to drive, taking theoretical and practical classes and defensive driving courses. In some countries, the minimum age for driving is 16 years old, whereas in others, this age is 18 years old or even more. The minimum age does not appear to be the main cause of unsafe traffic. To summarize, I really disagree with increasing the legal age to drive in order to improve safety, but I understand that the government and traffic authorities should take more actions to avoid accidents and prepare the drivers better, whether men or women, youngsters (young people) or adults.