Some people think that computers are more of a hindrance than a help in today's society. Others believe that they are such indispensable tools that they would not be able to live or work without them. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion.

Throughout the first decade of the new millenium, never has the debate between technology prononents and their opponents subsided. While some assert that computers are an integral of human society, without which the world as we know will fall apart, others think otherwise because computers to them are no more than a nuisance. Engrained in this essay is an idea that computers are a double-edged sword and it is up to the user to determine whether this innovation is of interest to humanity or not. Some express a valid concern that human interaction can be severely compromised by technology. Face-to-face communication, which has, for the most part of human history, been the dominant medium of information acquisition and dissemination, is now defied by computers and its applications. For example, children would rather spend more time playing around with games notoriously designed to be additive, such as Fortnite, than with their parents. If this example is self-insufficient, then another one about how the balance between work and private lives of many young adults have been aggresively violated by Skype or the likes should suffice. These individuals share an ill-fated life with excessive computer interference and thus, fail to engage in adequate communication with their loved ones. Therefore, the predication that computers undermine human bonds is, without doubt, validated. However, for many, a world without the advent of computers would have gone down an irreversible downward spiral because their absence would inconvenience numerous aspects of life and impede progress. For instance, contracts would still have to be printed out, mailed over and signed by both parties before a project was to be initiated, which not only took months, if they were situated in different countries, but also involved plethoric bureaucracy. The exsistence of computers makes this unbearable hassle a matter of seconds. This is also how many billionaires in their 20s are exploiting the power that the Internet bestows on them to create solutions to previously unsolveable problems and make a fortune out of them. Not only do computers heavily incentivise many fields in an economy proliferate, but they also encourage people to extend beyond their conventional boundaries to execute tasks unimaginable. In conclusion, computers are far from either beneficial or detrimental because they are only a contrivance designated to serve human beings to implement their tasks. Giving them credit or condeming them of hindering human progress is deviating from the core problem. It is us who should decide the fashion in which this invention is to be employed. Therefore, as responsible human beings, we need to face the harsh truth and blame ourselves for being affected by soulless objects.