Many high street shop have gone out of business in recent year . Why do you think this has happened ? is it a positive or negative development?

It is no longer uncommon to witness that high street stores which used to be an unbeatable contender of the global market are now struggling to maintain their business. This essay points out their volatile business model as the major culprit behind their demise, as well as asserts that their disappearance is beneficial for the world economy. Many high street shops face forced closure because the niche market in which they operate does not cater for the majority. However, insanely profitable each sold unit is, their total revenues are still fairly limited, compared to their mass market counterparts. Concrete evidence of this can be seen in the top 10 most influential companies in the world, inclusive of Walmart- a supermarket chain, but not of any luxury company, Furthermore, not only are their total earnings restrictively small, but their costs for marketing, for example celebrity endorsement, can occupy a significant portion in their already stretched budgets. This combination allows little room for them to research and develop their products, thereby failing to allure new customers. This reduced prospect further exacerbates their already tiny pool of clients, which ultimately leads to many of them encountering predictable bankruptcy. Their closure, however, is indicative of optimism because cashflow will now be poured into sectors that provide actual support to the economy. It is universally accepted that prices of luxurious items are not only astronomically inflated, but they also add no realistic value to the world. Under a theoretical scenario in which these enterprises all died out, money would instead be shifted towards education, or technology. With such resources, new schools could be constructed, revolutionary technologies which could save people from incurable diseases could be invented. Compared to a handbag which costs 1 million dollars but bring the same value as its 10-dollars counterpart, a 1-million study of COVID-19 vaccine should be of greater importance to the entire humanity. In conclusion, the destruction of high street shops are owing to their business model, but this is a positive phenomenon. With their demise comes the strong development of socially important sectors such as education or technology, which is a solid indicator of a healthy economy.