In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

One of the social concerns today relates to the ideal place for living, some believe small villages are optimal for social interactions while others believe large cities are more beneficial for living. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. On the one hand, there are several reasons why living in small suburban areas is beneficial. A common reason is that it creates opportunities for social interactions and activities among neighbourhoods. One good illustration of this is summer activities for children in the village to socialize with each other. As a result of this, many children obtained advantageous communication skills that can be applied for their future pathways. Another benefit is how convenient it is for individuals to access needs that can be borrowed from their nearby residents. For example, it would be more convenient for individuals to ask for certain food supplies when needed urgently rather than having to go to the store. On the other hand, there are a number of disadvantages of living in a small neighbourhood that people should take into consideration. One obvious drawback is that privacy can be often violated. Due to the closure between neighbors, often times, privacy can be interrupted. Another negative effect is that small areas frequently deal with loud noises. A recent research in 2015 showed that 74% of individuals who live in villages with houses built near each other complained about the noise production of their neighbors. In conclusion, living in a tiny suburb could have certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked. My view is that villages can outweigh living in big cities to a low extent as big cities as privacy plays a crucial role in living.