Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some people believe that the most effective solution to shorten the commuting time to offices is to transform parks and gardens near the city center into housing complexes for workers, while others maintain the opposite point of view. This essay will discuss both perspectives while also offering an explanation as to why the former argument promotes better conditions for workers. On one hand, converting city parks and gardens into residential buildings will expedite the people's movement to the business district. This is because a lot more people live closer to their offices, preventing them from getting stuck in traffic jams or crowded public transportation. In big cities in developing countries, public transportation facilities are poor, forcing people to use cars or motorcycles that cause road congestion during rush hours. Such a circumstance can be addressed by adding more housing complexes in the city centre. On the other hand, people demand the provision of open spaces like parks and gardens to facilitate leisure activities in the city. Green area plays a pivotal role as the meeting point, picnic destination, and even sports areas easily accessible to the public. For instance, Central Park in New York has been regarded as the model of a city park as it serves various functions for New Yorkers. Its strategic location has attracted many visitors escaping from the concrete jungle. Many people who live in the cities have seen the benefits of parks and gardens for their lives. Nonetheless, I personally believe that more residential areas should be built in the centre even at the expense of eliminating parks and gardens because its benefits outweigh the cost of retaining green areas. Closer distance to offices means that the use of cars or vehicles run on fossil fuels will be less, reducing pollution. Consequently, more energy can be saved, contributing to the fight against climate change. It is indeed true that having more trees growing in the city centres can help absorb the produced carbon dioxide. However, reducing its production brings more advantages while at the same time increasing the efficiency of workers' journey to the offices.