Some people think that students who achieve the best academic results should be rewarded. Others believe it is more important to reward students who show improvement. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that pupils with the highest grades should be honoured, while others feel those who improve the most should be commended. This essay will discuss both points of view and argue that those who attain the highest marks should get the rewards, followed by a reasoned conclusion. Many support the view that only the top students should get recognition in the form of rewards. They think that this is only fair and that excellence and hard work should be recognised. This essay agrees with this view because it incentivises learners to strive to be the best and fosters healthy competition. For example, in the United Kingdom’s top universities, like Oxford and Cambridge, many professors publish exam results publicly to increase motivation. Alternatively, others advocate commending those who develop the most over a term or school year. They believe that this encourages those who are closer to the bottom of the class to get better and takes into account that not everyone can be top of the class. This essay disagrees with this view because it encourages mediocrity and is unfair to those students who have worked hard to achieve academic distinction. In summary, although there are strong arguments to recognise students for improving, it is more important to give the high achievers the accolades in the interests of fairness and the spirit of excellence.