Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people assert that all educators in university should learn fields about which they are enthusiastic, while others are of the opinion that they should be mandated to select what will be fruitful in the future, like scientific and technological topics. However, I would argue that they can be more successful in their academic career if they choose subjects in accordance with their favourites. The main advantage of directing students to study science and technology is that they may be able to serve their societies as specialized workforces, especially in developing countries that are likely to endeavour to experience industrial development. In fact, should governments implement a plan to become a developed country, they may be required to establish industries and factories for economic growth, followed by human sources to manage and handle these industrial programs. Basically, this is the main reason why official authorities founded educational institutions, although the majority of them might fail to achieve a desirable result. Notwithstanding, it is undeniable that if students are extensively motivated about their fields of study, people will exert their full effort in mastering a cluster of skills related to them, thus preparing more effectively as high-skilled experts. Consequently, this is not only associated with personal satisfaction but also satisfies governments to achieve their industrial goals. To illustrate, a great number of celebrities succeeding as a role model have suggested that pursuing their dreams in their professional life acted like a source of energy and motivation. Furthermore, societies should include a variety of professions, from engineers to doctors or even artists, and each of them provides a kind of service for citizens, which would be impossible if people were limited to certain fields. In conclusion, although it may be justifiable that governments require students to study in fields related to their policies, it is more highly appropriate for both officials and citizens to enable students to study what they want.