Life has become much more stressful compared to our parent’s generation. As a result, stress-related illnesses are increasing around the world. Why is stress such widespread in the modern world? What do you think can be done to overcome the problems caused by stress?

Stress slays us from the inside and can lead to personal, social, physical and psychological issues that drive us to the verge of dilapidation. Stress and anxiety are far more severe and widespread among the modern generation than in their forefathers. The reasons for this crisis could be attributed to poor working conditions and the worldwide financial crisis. Several initiatives could be taken to address this problem. One of the primary reasons for the extensive stress -related problems in the modern era is the demanding and highly competitive work environment. Constant work pressure, deadlines, and job insecurity lead to lengthier office hours, which leave little or no family or personal time. It disrupts our relationships, social life, and sleep pattern, and fosters unhealthy diet habits and sedentary lifestyles. For instance, with the ever-increasing working hours, employees sleep fewer hours than ever before, and the majority of them do not cook healthy meals at home. The final result is a more stressful life and deteriorating health conditions. Another reason for this horrendous problem is the global economic crisis and rampant inflation. As a result, many people find it extremely difficult to meet their expenses and often get trapped in loans and debts. Bankruptcy is increasing, and more people are trying to get a second job to support their lifestyle than ever before. The result is more depression and distress, which even leads to suicides. As a solution to this social catastrophe, governments should enact laws to restrict working hours and push employers to improve the working environment for their employees. In addition, financial aid to needy people and mentorship and therapy programmes for already sufferers are needed. Finally and most importantly, we, as individuals, have to be more prudent in our lifestyle choice, expenses, savings and retirement plans, and spend quality time with our family to eliminate stress and tension. To give an example, even after having a busy professional life, people who choose to lead a healthy life often tend to suffer less from depression, anxiety and stress. So our choices matter. In conclusion, stress is a silent killer and impedes our performance, deteriorates our health and destroys our relationships. It is expected that individuals and governments will work hard to make a stress -free modern world for all.