Some people believe that non academic subjects should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate only on academics. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Pursuing of high academic score in school is considered one of the most important goals for some which leads to many adopting the idea of removing non-academic related subjects like P.E and cooking from the learning curriculum. I moderately disagree with this initiative and will give my rationale in this essay. Children are currently undergoing extensive theory sessions in school with academic subjects just to potentially do well in life and win in the competitive environment but this may affect their mental health. Take learning Math in some Asian countries as an example, many Asian parents enrolled their children on extra Math lessons outside of school just to be among the top-tier students in school which created a lot of stress on students. Moreover, some parents pressure their kids to spend less time on their favourite sport in high school to make time for studying in order to be academically qualified for a prestigious university which causes some students to be burnt out. This development seems harsh and may hinder their growth because of the mental stress. On the other hand, some children should spend time on sports and other soft skills such as cooking. The approach of removing non-academic subjects from the learning syllabus is not appropriate for some students because in these subjects, some will thrive, and not only that students can earn valuable skills and lessons from going through these subjects. Furthermore, with increased knowledge and the ability to keep oneself healthy from P.E. sessions or the ability to cook for oneself, young people will have more energy to focus on academic lessons in the long term. In conclusion, I disagree with the notion of making more space in the syllabus for academic lessons by downsizing non-academic sessions. This development could impact negatively on children and potentially cut them off from the potential to grow both academically and the ability to have soft skills.