The use of mobile phone is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phone should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that using a cell phone and smoking are antisocial activities and as smoking is prohibited in specific areas the same should apply to cell phones. I strongly disagree with this belief as cell phones are necessary for daily activities and are not harmful to others and the environment. First, smoking is prohibited because of the damage that it produces to the lungs of a person. In addition, smoking is considered to be the first cause of death by lung cancer worldwide followed by chemical exposure to fumes and other hard fuels. As an example, a person who smokes has double the probability of dying than someone who does not smoke. For this reason, countries have defined specific places free from smoke such as public transport, hospitals and other enclosed places that do not have an adequate ventilation system. Secondly, cell phones are necessary for everyday life. We use these devices for many purposes such as working, studying, communication, relaxing, enjoyment and many more. If we did not have this technology, a simple task such as writing an essay would take more time to complete. For example, thanks to bank apps we now have the ability to transfer and deposit money without actually leaving our home thus saving money and time. In conclusion, smoking is banned in certain places because of the damage that it causes to the ecosystem while cellular phone are safe to use and do not have an effect on our health. These devices play an important part in our daily life and should not be prohibited.