There are several factors that motivate people to stay in the workforce, and money is the most important factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are various reasons why people may want to remain in paid work. While I accept that money is an important factor for some, I believe that others remain in the workforce for other reasons On the one hand, there are some reasons why money is one of the motivations for people to remain in the workforce. One reason is that some simply wish to have an acceptable standard of living, and they need this living wage to support themselves or their families. Thus, even if their salary is low, they could not survive without it. Another reason is that others want to pursue a successful career in order to earn a high salary. For example, employers may offer a pay rise to an ambitious employee who is able to achieve a company sales target. Therefore, money is a major factor in inducing both modest people as well as high-flyers to stay in work. On the other hand, for the majority of employees, there are other factors which motivate them more strongly to stay in work. Firstly, many people value factors such as job satisfaction as more important than their salary. If a person adores the outdoor life, he or she will not be happy being a stockbroker or a financier, no matter that the salaries for both those jobs are extremely high. Secondly, contributing to the community is another reason to value a job. For instance, Mr Kurt, who has lived in Vietnam for about 20 years, has constructed 6 schools and other facilities for disabled children. He left his job with the Danish Embassy to bring about changes to the lives of youngsters. In conclusion, I agree that money can be an important factor for employees to stay in the workforce, but this is by no means the key consideration for most people.