Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge. However, despite this, most schools still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Most career preferences need to have professional abilities or expert knowledge. Nevertheless, in spite of this, many colleges still teach academic subjects such as philosophy or social classes. Learning these subjects can offer a plethora of benefits, nevertheless, there are also possible negative sides as well. On the one hand, one of the main advantages might be that being knowledgeable in history subject makes us much more aware of what happened in the world from the past to the present day. For instance, someone who does not know about the annals of the native country can be easily manipulated in the political or historical arena by opponents. Furthermore, teaching these kinds of classes is a boon for a person who doesn’t have a mundane life, is in search of meaning in our world, and can improve perceptions such as philosophy, and several religious lessons. Conversely, some people believe that academic subjects, which all universities persist in teaching, are time-wasting as compared to professional ones. For example, it is obligatory to have above than 40 credits that are assigned for social studies to get your diploma at several universities in Azerbaijan, such as Khazar University, Baku Engineering University, etc. Moreover, taking these classes for a semester can be a harbinger of failure on the exams, which would wane our vitality about other lessons that are vital for our careers. To conclude, teaching social studies can expand the outlook of some people or become a comprehensive person, on the other hand, this may also come with some problems, such as time-wasting and failures in exams.