As global trade increases, many goods including those we use on daily basis are produced in another country and have to be transported long distances . Do benefits of this trend outweigh disadvantages.

The increasing global trade nowadays causes various commodities, including daily necessities, to be imported far from other countries. Although this regulation has some disadvantages, I personally believe that the activity is much more beneficial. It is clear that the Importing activities have some drawbacks that cannot be denied, like indicating dependence on other countries. For developing countries, it is normal to depend on the superior ones for commodities, but it can also be trouble if an unpredictable situation happens. For instance, Ghana and Sri Lanka, which usually import some goods from China, failed to pay their debt in 2022 due to COVID-19, resulting in inflation in their countries and creating unpleasant living conditions for citizens. Another problem is transportation costs. Long-distance importing activity usually comes with high transport costs. As a result, it can burden the government. However, the import activity should not be underestimated. This regulation also has many advantages that are worth considering. The former is reducing costs; some companies prefer to purchase goods from other countries rather than create them themselves because of manufacturing costs. In some cases, to cut manufacturing costs, they attempt to find good-quality products that are inexpensive by ordering them in large quantities. It is much better than if the companies spend money on raw materials, machines, and operation costs. The latter is the market’s ability to produce high-quality commodities. The case can be taken from Indonesia, whose numerous natural resources. Regarding the luck of human resources and manufacturing, Indonesia prefers to export the raw materials to other countries such as the USA, China, and Japan. The materials produced by the countries will then be imported to Indonesia again. In addition to making mutualism symbiosis, it can also bring the relationship between countries closer. In conclusion, the activities of import can provide various valuable effects for countries and companies under some conditions, while improving capability to produce high-quality needs for the citizens.