Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

A group of individuals present the view that it is better for grandparents to live with their extended families, whereas others believe old people ought to be inspired to live separately. I strongly agree with the former opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that children can absorb their grandparents ’ patterns of behaviour. To clarify, children mostly hang out with their grandparents in dual-income families which makes their grandparents become role models. For example, children with easy-going grandparents are likely to make friends more easily. Furthermore, parents can count on grandparents regarding child-minding. In many families, both father and mother have to work to afford the expenditures. This is when grandparents can assist in taking care of children while the parents are at work. On the other hand, another group of people claim that many grandparents prefer to see their grandchildren on a less frequent basis (as opposed to every day). They insist that reducing times of visiting their grandchildren can result in making these visits more special and cherished for all concerned. In addition, with some merit, many younger families do not have the housing space and they suffer from the lack of furniture. For instance, enough vacant bedrooms could not be found in small houses. However, I do not find this argument convincing as children and grandparents should try to bond and spend more time together. Although kids prefer to own their single room, sharing their bedrooms with their grandparents can remedy the problem. To conclude, in my view, children can benefit from their grandparents ' presence in case of observing etiquette and child-minding. Moreover, instead of cutting down the visiting times, the quality of the relationship between grandparents and their extended families must be revised always.