Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, whether our food is healthy or not is critical issue not only for ourselves but also governments which have to keep people's health. Because certain foods include a great amount of sugar, some people have discussed if sugary products have to be made more expensive. Admitting that there are always pros and cons to this idea, depending on the value systems or circumstances, the answer varies. All in all, I partly agree with this idea. First and foremost, the motivation to make its food include more sugar must be discouraged due to this policy. In order to gain popularity with food, enterprises have a lot of alternatives but every option's expenditure is not the same, which means that adding much sugar is the cheapest and easiest method. However, once the sugary products ' cost becomes higher, the balance of demand and supply with sugary products must be altered, which makes those products less popular. As a result, each firm starts to take effort not to focus on the quantity of sugar but to choose the other options to gain popularity. Secondly but not less important, we have to recognize that certain types of country's citizens heavily rely on sugary products, which means this measure discussed in this essay becomes essential for those citizens’ subsistence but this becomes in vain for others. Like Japanese, too much sugar in food is thought to be low quality or unsophisticated. However, American's taste isn't same as Japanese. This means the demand for sugary products in the United States must be higher than Japan, and thereby this methodology must be more critical to those people’s expenditures and discourage them from buying those products. In conclusion, to make sugary products more expensive is important for enterprises to have high regard for sugar because sugar is the simplest method to gain popularity, and also causes damage to only certain types of people to regard sugar as essential with regard to their expense. Therefore, I partly agree with this idea.