in many countries today, people in cities either leave alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is it a positive or negative trend?

It is true that nowadays, people are more tend to live alone or in few-member families in comparison with the previous large family groups. I see this trend as a negative transformation of communities. There are a variety of reasons why it is a disadvantageous change in modern life that people have a more isolated lifestyle. Firstly, family members have always been regarded as helpful and supportive individuals in everyone's life. If you live alone or in a family without having any siblings, you will be less likely to be independent and therefore take risks as you have never felt supported. Secondly, it would be precious for a person to see others' experiences and beliefs, especially those who are close and have as same living conditions as them. Moreover, living in a wider community would protect people from mental diseases as in today's lives, there is an increasing rate of depression mostly provoked by the feeling of loneliness. For example, by living alone, that person would not spend a specific amount of time talking to another person face-to-face and it, therefore will result in more time spent on social media, antisocial characteristics, and not sharing feelings with anyone. Living in a large family would assist people to be entertained and communicate, all of which diminishes the chance of depression. In conclusion, people mostly live alone or in small families these days, and I believe that this trend would bring disadvantages to them.