Nowadays, parents put a lot of pressure on children. What are the reasons for parents doing that? Is it a positive or negative development for children?

In the contemporary era, a growing number of parents are pressuring on their children to be successful and make them proud. There are still heated debates about whether it is a positive or negative development. In my opinion, I believe that this notion has both benefits and drawbacks. First and foremost, there are a number of contributing factors as to why more and more parents are pressuring their children in this period of time. From the past until now, a number of parents have had a firm belief that “pressure makes diamonds”: they want their children to be successful and make achievements in their life. Therefore, parents become stricter and control the children’s decisions. In addition, parents place significant importance on their children’s achievements, preferring to brag about this performance to outsiders. This leads to pressure on their children. Regardless of the reasons for this development, it is clear that this trend has both positive and negative sides. It can be seen that younger generations with strict parenting will have awareness of success earlier than those with too much freedom. For instance, Asian parents who expect from their children’s success tend to keep a close eye on their children’s learning and invest a lot of money in their children’s education such as hiring a tutor or sending their youngsters to good schools. This leads to children having a good learning environment and leads to success. On the other hand, overprotective parents who hold old-fashioned ideas will tend to be negative, forcing their children to stay within the framework. These kinds of parents set a curfew and limit their children’s leisure time. However, the actions of these parents lead to many young adults falling into depression, anxiety and extreme stress. Teenagers will face mental health problems and easily cause negative actions. In conclusion, whether parents are pressuring their children is a positive or negative trend is still a debate issue. All things considered, parental interference in a child’s life is a dominating factor in this issue and it is my strong belief that this has both pros and cons.