Some people believe that free housing should be provided by the government for under-privileged and people who can’t afford to buy a house. To what extent do you agree and disagree with the statement?

Housing is one of the major points of households' expenses. In fact, it is so critical that a group of low-income families cannot buy or rent a place for themselves, and hence state's authority gives them a house. I immensely believe that it is a positive approach. First of all, a decent shelter is a given human right, and second, homelessness is the root cause of other social complications. Having a proper home is considered as a basic human right. Like clean water, freedom of speech, and religious freedom, people's habitation has a basic standard. Although putting a great financial burden on governments to provide free housing, it is the government's obligation to manage the finances through tax and other sources. In a free country nobody opposes the government's investment on clean water or freedom, therefore an aware society advocates the notion of free housing for under-priviledged population. For example, in Scandinavia states give free social housing to every household in need since 2010, and this is approved by the majority of the societies. Being homeless, on the other hand, is caused by and causes other problems. Families or individuals who go bankrupt are thrown out of their homes, and therefore they should face countless of obstacles and crimes in the wild of the city. The vicious cycle of social issues costs a lot for the government, hence the country decides to break it by providing free shelter. A decent accommodation for a poor family elevates their quality of life. Furthermore, criminals abuse homeless people for a temporary place to stay. A homeless person, for instance, may have to sell narcotics or be engaged in unwanted adultery activity for a small portion of money. These issues lead to a point where governments decide to accept providing free housing. To conclude, I think providing zero-cost shelter to low-income households is an obligation for authorities, simply because it is an elementary human right. Furthermore, by doing so, governments are preventing other social problems. Afterall, every person in the world deserve a place to live.