As global trade increases, many goods including those we use on daily basis are produced in another country and have to be transported long distances . Do benefits of this trend outweigh disadvantages

Numerous crucial goods, such as those needed on a daily basis, are manufactured and delivered from distant regions as worldwide markets expand. This reality, in my opinion, offers more benefits than drawbacks, with the benefits being increased availability and affordability of products and the potential negative being increased global warming. One of the primary benefits of producing and delivering goods over vast distances is the availability of foreign products in the country. This indicates that people will have access to things from other countries, such as certain agricultural products that are grown in another country, as a result of relocating to a different state. For example, people in Indonesia can consume a mandarin orange that is transported from China. Another advantage of relocating products made in another country is that they become more affordable. This means that because the same commodities are available in the market from different regions of the world, most merchants will compete with one another, resulting in lower prices for consumers. For instance, many studies have revealed that in Indonesia after the shortages of palm oil stock in the market, the palm oil’s price is affordable in the competitive range although the merchants sell the same exact type of palm oil but are presented in different brands. However, it has a disadvantage in the form of the reliance on other countries. In other words, creating and transporting natural commodities from one country to another will make one country dependent on International markets for the sale of raw materials. As the case, developed countries such as Singapore depends it electricity through natural resource, especially coal, but it is only produced by its neighboring countries specifically Indonesia. In conclusion, while price and accessibility are the primary advantages of generating and shipping over great distances, the issue of the reliance of one country on another cannot be underestimated.