In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

At present, we are all concerned about bottlenecks, especially in urban areas. One possible solution to this problem is to impose heavy taxes on car drivers and use this money to ameliorate public transport better. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of such measure. Arguably, there could be reasons why this measure has benefits. Initially, if governments obtain levy from drivers, the number of personal cars will be declined. This is because it would be extremely expensive to drive. By this, I mean most individuals can be accustomed public transports instead of their own cars, thus reducing traffic congestion and pollution as well. For example, in Poland, all inhabitants, who mostly utilize public transports or bicycle due to these range from penalty to taxes. Secondly, it must be said that states, which can provide better public transports such as modern buses or faster trains and thus would be comfortable for senior citizens at the expense of car owners. Notwithstanding advantages, there are also some drawbacks. First and foremost, this would be a heavy burden on the car drivers. Nowadays, taxes are already high for a lot of people, and so further taxes would merely mean less money at the end of month for most individuals, who may have no choice but to drive every day because they are tacking care of their families via car. In a nutshell, this solution is perhaps worth considering to improve the current circumstance. I frirmly believe that downsides are tackled by positive side.