In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In this present world, the encouragement of youngsters to work or travel abroad for almost one year is a common fact, especially in the period of time between high school graduation and starting university paths. I personally believe this is a matter where the advantages could outweigh the disadvantages in many ways. It is widely known that travelling for a year after school could benefit people. An experience abroad gives young people the chance to boost their experiences in many fields: enhance language skills, learn new cultures, and improve social connections. Generally, they are willing to experience a study trip in order to gain more prospects for their future, for example during a job interview these inhabitants could grap the attention and seem more reliable and professional if they had studied abroad for one year. Thus, a massive number of students are going to experience their lifetime in a college or in a host family, so that it leads to a full immersion in that culture and environment and gives also the choice to make new friendships. Likewise, working for a year before deciding to start university studies, could clear their head on what they prefer to do. For instance, there are several cases where people find their own ways or passions without the necessity to attend university. On the other hand, there is a counterargument that if people decide to go abroad or work after high school, they will lose a year of their life. Furthermore, nowadays there is a high expectation of young people and putting your life on stand-by could be seen as a negative point in society. Another disadvantage could be that living abroad, even for a short time, gets away from your relatives and your friends. To conclude, I reiterate my statement by saying that there are a myriad of benefits to taking a short break after finishing school, thus youngsters should chaise their ambitions and desires, and adventures like these should strengthen their motivation and stand them in a good stead.