Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when traveling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the advance in information technology, majority of human activities have been affected in most areas of life, especially when it comes to work related activities. People are now more flexible with their working space; they can work from anywhere, not only limited to their office place. This certain arrangement has caused some to pick sides. Although, some would argue that there are some detrimental side effects it brings, it cannot be denied that there are also several beneficial outcomes that are way more crucial compared to its disadvantages. Judging from how irresponsible the employees might become, working remotely might allow the supervisors to have limited access to their workers ’ activities during office hours. This might lead to an increase in their laziness level since there will be no micromanagement involved in this arrangement. The workers might not put their best performance into the work and not consider that as their priority because the work setting is less monitored. Another aspect that will also be affected negatively is the communication between employees and their supervisors. Direct communication can be considered as one of the major keys in the success of a project. However, working outside their workplace will influence the communication styles. Most of the time, the problem with indirect communication is that the idea cannot be addressed in a proper way. This alone can cause a confusion between the sender and the receiver of the idea which means it might result in the delay of the work completion. Nevertheless, we cannot turn our blind eye to its major advantages it brings to the table. One says working remotely reduces the stress level. On the grounds that people nowadays have more concern towards mental health, they have made a comparison between working casually from anywhere and working from workplace; which one is way more advantageous. The result comes out to be in favor of working outside the workplace setting. This setting enables workers to be more relax Change the form of the verb relaxed show examples; no morning rush, no direct supervision, and no direct meetings which are sometimes so nerve wracking. When it comes to productivity, the later setting indeed has a massive impact on it. Remote working allows employees to be more creative and expressive due to the casual settings to which they are exposed. When they are exhausted, they could choose to go to the beach to work there, for instance, which can help to reduce their overwhelming feeling. By doing this, the workers will be more motivated to finish their work since they are given the convenience by their employers. In return, they will perform their best to ensure the work is well handled which results in better work productivity. Furthermore, this act comes down to the employee-manager relationship. Both workers and managers will benefit from this particular setting. The employees can experience less stress and the managers will have better work achievements after all. In a nutshell, even though there are negative outcomes of teleworking, the tremendous changes it causes are paramount of importance. As mentioned earlier, the benefits of working from different places rather than from office have played way more crucial roles for both employees and employers. At the end of the day, what way more critical is the productivity level it affects which is better performed by employees who do telecommuting.