Societies would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that advertising of all kinds should be prohibited since it brings no value to the customers, and sometimes can be misleading. In my opinion, despite certain drawbacks on reliability and overconsumption, a complete ban on advertising is unnecessary. On the one hand, there are a couple of negativities involved in the development of advertising. The first problem is the low reliability of advertisements. Because of the fierce competition among companies in the same field these days, business owners are more likely to intentionally deliver distorted and exaggerated information about their products, making customers confused about their decisions. Secondly, advertising frequently manipulates people's desires and manufactures artificial needs, as its primary goal is to convince individuals to buy the products or services being promoted. Unfortunately, these products may be superfluous for consumers, leading to overconsumption and wasteful spending. On the other hand, advertisements should not be totally banned for several reasons. Firstly, the more strongly advertising develops, the more prosperous the economy will become. Thanks to various sorts of advertisements, products and goods can effectively reach potential customers, leading to the expansion of the merchandise market as well as the increase in domestic production. Furthermore, by gathering information about the products from a wide range of advertising items, buyers can consider thoroughly by making comparisons between the goods before their purchase. This can be of great use in terms of making the wisest buying decisions and doing shopping purposefully. In conclusion, I firmly believe that advertising does more good than harm. Although a few forms of advertising are undependable or misleading, advertising does play a crucial role in boosting the economy as well as facilitating the shopping experience.