Many young people today change their jobs or careers every few years. Do you think this has more advantages than disadvantages?

In today’s modern society, various new employment opportunities make the younger generation change their occupations every few years. Although changing jobs has a certain merit, I am firmly convinced that its demerits are more significant. On the one hand, a major benefit when people change their occupations several times is that they can have more experience with many kinds of jobs. This is mainly because during the same time, if they have different jobs, they can obtain more working experiences and skills. Thus, they can discover their potential and passion more easily. For instance, Jenn Im, who is a famous youtuber, had tried many jobs such as writing or teaching before becoming a beauty blogger. Therefore, changing jobs often may bring experiences that staying in one job cannot provide. On the other hand, it is my firm belief that there are some drawbacks that cannot be neglected. The first significant drawback is that people do not have enough time to have profound experience. In today’s world of work, a fundamental condition which applies to many positions in a company requires a minimum of 2 or 3 years of experience in the professional field. As a consequence, people who change their job every few years may find it hard to find a decent job. Another major drawback is that employees who change their jobs often may lose non- salary benefits such as health insurance and bonuses. To illustrate this point, in Vietnam, employees can receive an amount of bonus on Tet holiday, but staff who work for only a few months may not receive that money. In conclusion, while changing jobs may help people get more experience and find their favorite work, I personally think that its disadvantages including the lack of profound experience or the loss of non-salary benefits are more significant.