Some people think that a person improves intellectual skills better when doing group activities. To what extend do you agree? Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

Some believe that clumping people together and having them engaged in group activities leads to enhanced intellectual growth. There seems to be a correlation between social engagement and motivation which in turn can lead to more occurrences of intellectual exertion, and by extension, improving intellectual skills. However, I beg to disagree because when it comes to the way our intellectual faculties chiefly develop and the nature of knowledge acquisition derived from our intellect, being active in a group activity is but a fraction of the whole process. The social aspect of a group activity tends to get in the way of intellectual development. Engagement in a social activity puts more undue pressure on your cognitive load. That means in addition to directing your focus to the task at hand which in our case might be solving math problems, you also need to be attentive to your group members. In comparison, doing the math problems on your own frees up more space room in your mind which helps you stay focused. Furthermore, when you are put in a social context you inevitably have to compromise. Not all groups are perfectly matched together. Suppose you want to study neuroscience in a group study, because everyone has their own their own learning habits and speed, you may be required to pace yourself accordingly to others, losing your precious time in the process. What's more, I argue that engaging in an Intellectually demanding subject is primarily a solitary activity. While it is a truism that you need to receive feedback from others, it doesn't need to be done in a group activity, in fact, you are better served to consult textbooks or experts in your particular area of study. It's also a given that the main activities that are absolutely essential for furthering your intellectual enterprise are reading and writing. These activities necessitate sufficient time, intense focus, and a quiet room free from distractions. These elements work even better if you routinely do it at your own pace. This leads us to the idea that writing and reading, at least to my knowledge, are skills that cannot be adequately transmitted through group activities. For example, even though it's customary to create book clubs to bolster your intellect, the reading portion is done individually and this is how it should be done. No amount of social participation or engagement in group activities improves your reading and writing skills because they are inherently done in solitude. In short, I have argued that the main vehicles through which we foster intellectual development as it is in the case of reading and writing, are primarily individual activities which can best be carried through in a distraction-free environment. Social engagement could be considered a motivator but does not necessarily reflect how most of our conceptual and intellectual skill is made.