In many countries, the number of animals and plants is declining. Why do you think this is happening? How can this issue be solved?

One of the most devastating ecological problems humanity faces is the declining number of animal and plant species - the phenomenon seen all over the world. One of the key reasons for this is people ’s ignorance, hence, in order to tackle this problem, we need to educate the population on this subject. This disastrous situation is caused by many factors, but the most crucial one seems to be connected with people ’s lack of knowledge in this field. Many people are not aware (or prefer not to be aware) of the role we are playing in the decline of flora and fauna. Moreover, some of them are inclined to believe that as individuals they cannot play a significant role in saving animals or plants and only governments or multinational corporations are capable to bring serious changes. This notion, however, seems to be far from the truth. For example, some people do not sort rubbish, sometimes not because they do not have facilities but because they consider it to be boring and unnecessary. As a result, some of this litter is not recycled, ending up in wastelands or, worse, in oceans, where it can harm animals or plants. Luckily, there are numerous ways to tackle this issue, including educational campaigns for both children and adults. Raising public awareness is, to my mind, one of the most effective methods to stop the disappearance of flora and fauna, since it may help to encourage people to take an active part in resolving the issue. If people are shown why it is so important and, what is more, what exactly they can do to help, many of them will be willing to participate. Some citizens simply do not know what charities they can donate money or volunteer for: they need to be provided with this information to start tacking action. In conclusion, the decline of flora and fauna is an acute problem, caused partly by humans’ actions and lack of knowledge. This issue can be addressed by carrying out comprehensive educational campaigns aimed at different people.