Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

The staff in some organizations is obliged to follow their dress code at all times. The advantages of this are that employees do not have to worry much about what to wear the next day and they look more professional. However, the disadvantages are that wearing a uniform every day can be monotonous and increase their workload. The significant benefit of wearing a uniform is that people do not have to spend much time on thinking about their next day clothing. Generally, it is the biggest task for individuals to decide what to wear and if companies have some dress code for their staff, this rule is like a problem- solver. Additionally, the staff seems more professional in a uniform. When they carry a particular piece of clothing, it means they are representing their company and respecting the work ethics. In Australia, for instance, people working at Coles wear red t-shirts with its logo, which make them to look more presentable, professional and identifiable among the shoppers visit Coles. Getting a monotonous feeling by wearing the same clothing each day is the biggest disadvantage of following the uniform culture. Sometimes people want to look different and putting on the same clothing daily can be boring. But still, when they have to do it, it adversely affects their mood and productivity at work. Moreover, they have to wash their clothing almost every day, which increase their workload and somehow affect their mental health, when they have to run after work -related things during most part of the day. In India, for example, employees get fined, if they not follow the dress code, which is indirect way of punishing and pushing them towards work related tasks in their personal time. Thus, this example vividly explains that how uniform obligation at workplace affects employees' personal life. In conclusion, while uniform culture at work solves staff's clothing-related dilemma situations and encourage professionalism, the drawbacks are that it brings boredom and more workload in their daily life.